Neeme Järvi conducts Dvořák, Shchedrin, Franck, and Shostakovich – With Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky

Romantic Offering: world premiere – Luzerner Sinfonieorchester

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Martha Argerich — Pianist

Mischa Maisky — Cellist

Lucerne Symphony Orchestra

Neeme Järvi — Conductor

Program notes

The Lucerne Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Neeme Järvi and accompanied by Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky, offer a program with works by Shchedrin, Dvořák, César, and Shostakovich!

Under the baton of Neeme Järvi, Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky – long-time friends and chamber music partners – perform for the very first time the "Romantic Offering" for piano, cello, and orchestra by Shchedrin Lucerne Symphony Orchestra. The three amazing artists gathered again during the Verbier Festival in 2012 to play this work, a concert that was broadcast live on

In this concert at the Lucerne Festival Hall, we have the pleasure of listening to the pianist and the cellist discuss in César Franck's Sonata in A major for cello and piano. As for the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra and Neeme Järvi, they offer a wonderful performance of the joyful Scherzo Capriccioso, Op. 66, one of Dvořák's most praised works, as well as Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9 in E flat Major, Op. 70, which lightness refers to the general feeling of relief caused by the end of the war.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info