Sir Simon Rattle and Leonidas Kavakos play Bartók, Stravinsky and Berlioz

Europakonzert 2005, Budapest

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Performed in a different European city each year, the incomparable Berlin Philharmonic's annual Europakonzert commemorates the orchestra's 1882 founding while celebrating the cultural life of the European community.

The 2005 Europakonzert takes place in Budapest, the capital of the then new European Union member Hungary.

At the impressive State Opera House in Budapest, the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of their music director Sir Simon Rattle perform works by Bartók, Stravinsky and Berlioz. The Soloist for Bartók's Violin Concerto No. 2 is Leonidas Kavakos. The Greek violinist has established himself as one of the most sought-after young virtuosos and appears regularly with leading orchestras and in recital throughout the world.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info