Lars Vogt plays Janáček, Schubert and Beethoven

Verbier Festival 2011

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Lars Vogt — Pianist

Program notes

The pianist Lars Vogt performs works by Janáček, Schubert, and Beethoven at the 2011 Verbier Festival.

Former principal pianist-in-residence of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Lars Vogt is one of the eminent chamber musicians of his generation. Here he presents a recital featuring highlights of the 19th and 20th century solo piano repertoire.

The evening begins with Janáček’s 1912 In the Mists, a four-movement cycle that recalls the works of Impressionist composers like Debussy. Then comes Beethoven’s incandescent and fugue-inspired Piano Sonata No. 32 in C minor, his last piano sonata and one of his last compositions for piano, written between 1821 and 1822. Three short years later, in 1826, Schubert completed the program’s next work, his Piano Sonata in G major, the last of his sonatas to be published during his lifetime.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Pierre-Martin Juban
Venue: Verbier Church (Verbier, Switzerland)
Production date: 2011
Duration: 1 h 20 min
Production: © Idéale audience – Museec
Resolution: HD