Lahav Shani conducts Bruch and Tchaikovsky — With Pinchas Zukerman

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Live from the Charles Bronfman Auditorium in Tel-Aviv, meet up with the Israel Philharmonic, led by musical director extraordinaire, Lahav Shani! They are joined by the great Pichas Zukerman for a program that includes two timeless gems of the repertoire.

The concert begins with Bruch’s legendary Violin Concerto No. 1, a virtuosic, lyrical, and contrasted work that was so acclaimed after its premiere in 1868 that it eclipsed the rest of the master’s repertoire. The ensemble then performs Tchaikovsky’s famous Symphony No. 4 and its notorious introduction: a formidable segment for French horn whose motif represents fate.

Photo: Lahav Shani © Marco Borggreve

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info