Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Klaus Mäkelä conducts Brahms and Schumann — With Daniel Lozakovich and Mischa Maisky Verbier Festival 2021

Verbier Festival 2021

Klaus Mäkelä conducts Brahms and Schumann — With Daniel Lozakovich and Mischa Maisky Verbier Festival 2021


The inimitable Klaus Mäkelä takes the helm of the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra, joined by violin virtuoso Daniel Lozakovich and legendary cellist Mischa Maisky at the Salle des Combins! Lozakovich takes on the formidable Brahms Violin Concerto, one of the most demanding works in the repertoire, brimming with exquisite harmonic depth. Listen for the superb oboe solo in the Adagio, and for the delightful folk and gypsy music inspiration in the third movement! Maisky lends his storied talents to Schumann's Cello Concerto, an uncontested masterpiece of Romanticism whose difficult tempos present a challenge the cellist meets with his usual aplomb. To round out this memorable evening, the prodigious Mäkelä—next music director of the Orchestre de Paris—leads the prestigious VFCO in Schumann's Symphony No. 2, composed between 1845 and 1846 when the composer was emerging from a period of depression. His improving mental state may be reflected in the development of this unique work, triumphant and full of hope, in the key of C major.


Photo: Klaus Mäkelä © Mathias Benguigui Pasco And Co

Daniel Lozakovich appears courtesy of DG.

Klaus Mäkelä appears courtesy of Decca Classics.

Associated event



  • Johannes Brahms, Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 77
    • 1. Allegro non troppo
    • 2. Adagio
    • 3. Allegro giocoso, ma non troppo vivace
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita for Solo Violin No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004
    • 1. Allemanda
  • Robert Schumann, Cello Concerto in A Minor, Op. 129
    • 1. Nicht zu schnell
    • 2. Langsam
    • 3. Sehr lebhaft
  • Johann Sebastian Bach, Cello Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011
    • IV. Sarabande
  • Robert Schumann, Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61
    • 1. Allegro ma non troppo
    • 2. Scherzo - Allegro Vivace
    • 3. Adagio espressivo
    • 4. Allegro molto vivace


  • Directed by:
    • Sébastien Glas
  • Broadcast date: July 27, 2021, 6 p.m.
  • Production date: 2021
  • Replay available until: October 27, 2021
  • Production: © Idéale Audience
Why stop there? The rest of this incredible video is available for free for our guests!

Appears in

You might also like