Hans Graf conducts Mozart and Kozłowski — With Olga Peretyatko

The Singapore Symphony Orchestra presents an Asian premiere two centuries in the making

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Olga Peretyatko — Soprano

Olesya Petrova — Mezzo-soprano

Boris Stepanov — Tenor

Christoph Seidl — Bass

Singapore Symphony Youth Choir — Choir

Singapore Symphony Chorus — Choir

Eudenice Palaruan — Choral director

Wong Lai Foon — Choirmaster

Singapore Symphony Orchestra — Orchestra

Hans Graf — Conductor

Program notes

In 1798, the King of Poland—Stanisław August Poniatowski—passed away and Józef Kozłowski (Osip Kozlovsky)’s Requiem premiered in his honor. This deeply spiritual and moving work was later rewritten by the composer in 1825 for the funeral of Alexander I. However, despite its awe-inspiring nature and melodic beauty, it had largely fallen into obscurity over the centuries—before Singapore Symphony Orchestra Music Director Hans Graf, following extensive research and a new Urtext edition, revived the work’s original version with a sensational cast of soloists for its widely acclaimed Asian premiere in 2023! 

This wondrous revival is preceded by Mozart’s Symphony No. 25 in G Minor. Popularized by its appearance at the beginning of the movie Amadeus, it is one of the two Mozart symphonies composed in a minor key and is likely inspired by Haydn’s Symphony No. 39, also written in G Minor. This symphony is characteristic of the Sturm und Drang style—featuring syncopation and melodic leaps—and its dramatic beginning mirrors the power of Kozłowski's Requiem.

Photo © Jack Yam

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info