Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2017

#GramoAwards | With The Pan–Armenian Symphony Orchestra and Sergey Smbatyan, Benjamin Appl, The Tallis Scholars and Peter Phillips, Carolyn Sampson, Iestyn Davies and Joseph Middleton

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of


Benjamin Appl — Baritone

Carolyn Sampson — Soprano

Iestyn Davies — Countertenor

Joseph Middleton — Pianist

Beatrice Rana — Pianist

The Tallis Scholars — Choir

Peter Phillips — Conductor

Pan–Armenian Symphony Orchestra

Sergey Smbatyan — Conductor

Program notes

The most influential and prestigious classical music awards in the world is on the Gramophone Classical Music Awards. A unique occasion to bring together the most renowned names of classical music. Watch the ceremony live from London on!

Founded in 1977, the Gramophone Awards are the most prestigious awards in the world of classical music. They reward the best recordings released of the year out of twelve categories, from Early Music to Contemporary and from Concerto to Opera. Throughout the ceremony, the winners of the special awards are to be announced—the other names have been released in August (click here for more information). The special awards include Recording of the Year, Artist of the Year, Young Artist of the Year, Lifetime Achievement and Label of the Year.

The Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2017 winners:

  • Anniversary Award: Sam Jackson
  • Artist of the Year: Vasily Petrenko
  • Label of the Year: Signum Classics
  • Lifetime Achievement: Dame Kiri Te Kanawa
  • Special Achievement: Colin Matthews
  • Young Artist of the Year: Beatrice Rana


A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info