Gianandrea Noseda conducts Wagner, Daugherty, Barber, and Debussy — With Anne Akiko Meyers

National Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Anne Akiko Meyers — Violinist

National Symphony Orchestra — Orchestra

Gianandrea Noseda — Conductor

Program notes

Join us in Washington for another incredible evening with the National Symphony Orchestra under maestro Gianandrea Noseda—joined this time by violin star Anne Akiko Meyers for the world premiere of a new work by American composer Michael Daugherty!

This delightful and engaging program, centered around a theme of Wind & Wave, begins with the charming and perennially popular overture from Wagner's The Flying Dutchman. The widely acclaimed Meyers then takes the stage to perform the dazzling world premiere of Daugherty's Blue Electra, a work for violin and orchestra inspired by Amelia Earhart, before the orchestra takes on Samuel Barber's evocative Night Flight, the musical portrait of a nighttime flight over the sea.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Thursday, November 13, 2025