Daniel Barenboim conducts Beethoven — With Anne-Sophie Mutter

Staatskapelle Berlin

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Anne-Sophie Mutter — Violinist
Julia Kleiter — Soprano
Waltraud Meier — Contralto
Andreas Schager — Tenor
René Pape — Bass
Staatsopernchor Berlin
Martin Wright — Chorus Master
Staatskapelle Berlin
Daniel Barenboim — Conductor

Program notes

Meet the ever-extraordinary Daniel Barenboim for an all-Beethoven evening at the Berlin Bebelplatz! The Maestro heads the Staatskapelle in a concert that begins with Beethoven's powerful Egmont Overture, stylistically reminiscent of the contemporaneously written Fifth Symphony. Virtuoso Anne-Sophie Mutter, among the greatest violinists alive, shines as the soloist in the German master’s Romances for violin and orchestra, two works composed upon Beethoven’s arrival in Vienna. The concert ends in fireworks with the unmissable Ninth Symphony, featuring a five-star cast of singers: Julia Kleiter, Waltraud Meier, Andreas Schager and René Pape!

Photos: Daniel Barenboim © Silvia Lelli, Anne-Sophie Mutter © Bastian Achard

Daniel Barenboim and Anne-Sophie Mutter appear courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

Appears in

More info

Venue: Bebelplatz (Berlin)
Production date: 2020
Duration: 1 h 45 min
Production: A production of ZDF and Deutsche Grammophon in cooperation with C Major Entertainment
Resolution: Full HD

Available until

Saturday, September 13, 2025