Claudio Vandelli conducts Dvořák — With Mischa Maisky

Würth Philharmoniker

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Mischa Maisky — Cellist

Claudio Vandelli — Conductor

Würth Philharmoniker — Orchestra

Program notes

Cello legend Mischa Maisky headlines an all-Dvořák program with the Würth Philharmoniker and maestro Claudio Vandelli, featuring the extraordinary Cello Concerto and the beloved "New World" Symphony! 

Since its London premiere in 1896, Dvořák’s Cello Concerto in B Minor, Op. 104, has become one of the most frequently performed and cherished masterpieces of the classical music repertoire. Imbued with nostalgia for the composer’s Bohemian homeland, the concerto touchingly blends a lyrical solo voice with an expansive and expressive orchestral accompaniment; some critics have, in fact, hailed it as Dvořák’s tenth symphony. The composer himself was thrilled with the result, informing Josef Bohuslav Foerster that this composition "far surpasses my other concertos" and "brings me pure joy." Also written during Dvořák’s so-called American period is his Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, "From the New World," a one-of-a-kind symphonic masterpiece that the Würth Philharmoniker perform to perfection. The composition's premiere in 1893 at New York’s Carnegie Hall was a resounding triumph, and it stands to this day as one of the world’s most popular symphonies, known in popular culture for its heartbreaking Largo, as well as for the driving fourth-movement motif that inspired John Williams's iconic Jaws theme.

Photo: Mischa Maisky © Hideki Shiozawa

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info