Claudio Abbado conducts Mozart's Requiem

Berliner Philharmoniker, Herbert von Karajan Memorial Concert

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Karita Mattila — Soprano

Sara Mingardo — Mezzo-soprano

Michael Schade — Tenor

Bryn Terfel — Bass

Sveriges Radiokören

Berliner Philharmoniker

Claudio Abbado — Conductor

Program notes

On the tenth anniversary of Herbert von Karajan's death, the Berliner Philharmoniker pays tribute to its late maestro in his home town of Salzburg.

Filmed in the city's imposing Cathedral, Claudio Abbado conducts Mozart, honouring his predecessor as the orchestra’s Music Director. Mozart's Requiem is sung by an outstanding quartet of soloists including Karita Mattila, Sara Mingardo, Bryn Terfel and Michael Schade, with the Swedish Radio Choir. A performance that in every respect meets Karajan's own high artistic standards.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info