Alan Gilbert conducts Tchaikovsky, Lindberg and Ravel — With the New York Philharmonic and Evgeny Kissin

Live at Carnegie Hall

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Evgeny Kissin — Pianist

New York Philharmonic

Alan Gilbert — Music director, conductor

Program notes

In 2015, Carnegie Hall opened its 125th anniversary season with a thrilling evening of classical works and a world premiere performed by the fantastic New York Philharmonic and piano virtuoso Evgeny Kissin under the baton of Alan Gilbert.

This opening night at Carnegie Hall is for sure one to remember. Carnegie Hall co-commissioned a work from Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg, formerly the New York Philharmonic's Marie-Josée Kravis Composer-in-Residence. Receiving its world premiere performance, Vivo (subtitled "Concert Opener for Orchestra") was written in tribute to Ravel's Daphnis et Chloé, a symphonic piece also featured in the evening's program.

Following Vivo, the New York Philharmonic is joined by Evgeny Kissin for Tchaikovsky's immortal Piano Concerto No. 1. Completed in 1875 and revised in 1889, the concerto was supposed to be dedicated to the famous piano virtuoso Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky's close friend. The pianist, however, disliked it so much when he heard it the first time that Tchaikovsky chose to dedicate it to someone else. Though understandably shaken by his friend's criticism, the composer vowed, "I won't change a single note." The concerto's immediate success forced Rubinstein to admit his mistake, eventually becoming one of the best performers of the concerto. Evgeny Kissin steps perfectly into his shoes.

The New York Philharmonic ends the concert with the Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2, extracted from Ravel's score for the one-act ballet based on the adaptation by Greek writer Longus. In this second suite, the composer incorporates sections of the ballet that have principally to do with celebration—a perfect close for this festive event.

Audio for this broadcast provided by Classical 105.9 FM WQXR, New York, as part of the Carnegie Hall Live series.


Orchestra Roster

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info