XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition: Winner's Gala (I/II)


Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of


Matvey Demin — Flutist

Zeng Yun — Hornist

Zlatomir Fung — Cellist

Joidy Blanco — Flutist

Aleksey Lobikov — Trombonist

Vladislav Kupriyanov

Sergey Dogadin — Violinist

Georgios Alexandros Stavrakakis — Bass

Mao Fujita — Pianist

Aigul Khismatullina

Santiago Cañón-Valencia — Cellist

Fedor Shagov — Tubist

Maria Barakova — Mezzo-soprano

Marc Bouchkov — Violinist

Gihoon Kim

Dmitry Shishkin — Pianist

Mariinsky Orchestra

Program notes

The 16th edition of the prestigious International Tchaikovsky Competition comes to an end! After more than a week of intense musical challenges, the new stars of classical music come together to celebrate their triumph! A not-to-be-missed event webcast live on and on The Studio.

Official partner for the second consecutive edition, launched its first continuous channel with 8 hours of non-stop video content webcast live each day, including interviews, rare glimpses backstage, archival footage, and much more… The main website is also co-webcasting the opening concerts, the finale, the awards ceremony and the past winners concerts. A new challenge met with aplomb!

This ceremony will mark a decisive moment in the careers of these young stars, whether they win the first prize or not! The pianist who won the first prize in 1958, Van Cliburn, was met with a ticker tape parade on his arrival in New York returning from Russia. Lucas Debargue was met with a tidal wave of fame despite having been in fourth place in the 2015 competition. Cellist Natalia Gutman, violinist Gidon Kremer, singers Hibla Gerzmava and Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar...all of they passed through the Tchaikovsky Competition on their way to fame.

And who are these new stars?

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info