Operalia Prizewinners: Where Are They Now?

The winners' greatest roles, 1993-2014

Joyce DiDonato, Rolando Villazón, Sonya Yoncheva, José Cura, Pretty Yende, Erwin Schrott, Inva Mula, Elsa Dreisig, John Osborn, Ludovic Tézier, Stéphane Degout... What do these inimitable artists have in common? Besides the obvious answer—their world-class voices—they are all former prizewinners at the Operalia Competition, an invaluable launchpad for rising opera stars, founded in 1993 by Plácido Domingo. See the legendary performances they've gone on to give since their competition days!