Master class

Stephen Kovacevich teaches Schubert: Impromptus No. 1 and 3, Op. 90

Treasures of the Masterclass Media Foundation

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Stephen Kovacevich — Teacher, pianist

Lilit Grigoryan — Pianist (student)

Program notes

Internationally renowned as a soloist and concertist for performing works from the classical and romantic repertoires, Stephen Kovacevich focuses on Schubert's work in this masterclass.

When still a teenager, the American Stephen Kovacevich made his first public appearances alongside with the San Francisco Symphony. But it was only in 1961 that his career really started, when he gave a recital at the Wigmore Hall in London in a program bringing Berg, Bach and Beethoven together. He was so successful that night that he was immediately shot to the top. Then he pursued a career as a soloist and chamber musician, accompanied by Major names such as Jacqueline du Pré or Martha Argerich. Since 1984, he has also brilliantly carried out conductors activities, at the head of the Chamber Orchestra of Europe or the Australian Chamber Orchestra, for instance.

Author of an anthology of Schubert's works for piano, Kovacevich knows his topic and gives a performance of two impromptus, written by the Austrian composer who had composed two series in 1827: Impromptus No. 1 and No. 3, and this choice is not innocent since they form a ring inside which the third one extends the first one's meditation.

The Masterclass Media Foundation Archives offers to students and music lovers around the world filmed masterclasses, given by the best talents, on the greatest works of the classical repertoire. Their primary purpose is to provide a valuable educational resource in order to perpetuate passion and knowledge from one generation to another.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info