Master class

Master Class with Denis Zhdanov (I/IV)

Schubert's Sonata in A Minor, D. 821 "Arpeggione" - First Movement

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Denis Zhdanov — Teacher, cellist

Dmitry Silvian — Cellist

Robert Umansky — Pianist

Program notes

Award-winning Siberian cellist Denis Zhdanov works with Dmitry Silvian on the first movement of Schubert's Sonata in A Minor, D. 821 "Arpeggione" in a master class at the Villa Sandra Lesa.

Schubert composed the Sonata in A Minor, D. 821 for his friend Vincenz Schuster, a virtuoso on the arpeggione, a six-stringed, fretted instrument tuned like a guitar but bowed like a cello that had been invented in the early 1820s. While the instrument soon passed out of fashion, Schubert's sonata was quickly transcribed for cello, becoming part of cellists' standard repertoire. 

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info