Master class

Master Class with Maria Tchaikovskaya (III/III)

Bach's Cello Suite No.1, Sarabande

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Maria Tchaikovskaya — Teacher, cellist

Emily Siegreich — Cellist

Program notes

Cellist Maria Tchaikovskaya, first Prize Winner of the 1968 International Pablo Casals Competition and professor at the Moscow State Conservatory, works with Emily Siegreich in a master class at the Villa Sandra Lesa in Italy. Here they tackle the Sarabande from Bach's Cello Suite No. 1.

Dating from around 1720, Bach's Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007 is probably the most celebrated of his solo cello suites, primarily due to its first movement, a Prélude, which has found its way into numerous television shows and films. The Prélude is followed by six other movements, each composed in the form of a different baroque dance: Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Menuett, and Gigue.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info