Master class

Master Class with Rudolf Koelman (I/III)

Wieniavski's Violin Concerto No. 2 - Second and Third Movements

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Rudolf Koelman — Teacher, violinist

Shai Nakash — Violinist

Sander Sittig — Pianist

Program notes

Acclaimed Dutch violinist Rudolf Koelman gives a master class at the Villa Sandra Lesa in Lesa, Italy, working on the second and third movements of Wieniawski's Violin Concerto No. 2 with Shai Nakash.

Polish violin virtuoso Henryk Wieniawski premiered his Violin Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 22 in November 1862 with Anton Rubenstein conducting. The three-movement work begins with a passionate Allegro moderato leading directly into the celebrated Romance (Andante non troppo), followed by an exhilarating finale movement "a la zingara", inspired by gypsy music. This Second Concerto is the most admired work of Wieniawski's oeuvre.

More info