Master class

Master Class with Rudolf Koelman (II/III)

Beethoven's Violin Sonata No. 5 - First and Second Movements

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Rudolf Koelman — Violinist

Shai Nakash — Violinist

Sander Sittig — Pianist

Program notes

Acclaimed Dutch violinist Rudolf Koelman gives a master class at the Villa Sandra Lesa in Lesa, Italy, working on the first and second movements of Beethoven's Violin Sonata No. 5 in F major with Shai Nakash.

Known informally as the Frühlingssonate ("Spring Sonata"), Beethoven's Violin Sonata No. 5  was completed in 1801 and dedicated to Count Moritz von Fries. While Beethoven himself may not have given the work its moniker, the word "spring" does encapsulate the sonata's character: cheerful, filled with zest and freshness. The work has four movements: Allegro, Adagio molto espressivo, Scherzo: Allegro molto - Trio, and Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info