Master class

Master Class with Hagai Shaham (I/III)

iClassical Academy – Bach's Sonata for Solo Violin No. 1 – Adagio

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Hagai Shaham — Teacher, violinist

Suzan Yanki Karatas — Violinist (Student)

Program notes

Hagai Shaham gives a master class on Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonata for Solo Violin No.1.

Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin are a set of six works composed between 1703 and 1720. They were only published in 1820, years after the composer's death, and became well-known thanks to their performances by legendary violinists such as Joseph Joachim, Adolf Busch, and Georges Enesco. The set consists of three sonatas da chiesa in four movements, following a slow-fast-slow-fast structure, and three partitas of various combinations of baroque dance forms.

Hagai Shaham teaches at the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music at Tel Aviv University and he is Artist in Residence at Stony Brook University, New York. Student of the late renowned Professor Ilona Feher, he is the co-founder and a board member of the Ilona Feher Foundation for promoting young Israeli violinists. Shaham's awards include first prizes at the ARD Munich Competition and the Israel Broadcasting Authority Competition. Shaham highly motivates his students to reach out for the best possible performance and possesses a lot of background knowledge of the repertoire.

A closer look: composers and works

More info