Master class

Master Class with Janna Gandelman

Saint-Saëns' Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Janna Gandelman — Teacher, violinist

Mark Karlinsky — Violinist

Sandro Zanchi — Pianist

Program notes

Accomplished violinist Janna Gandelman, concertmaster of the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, works with Mark Karlinksy on Saint-Saëns' Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso at the Villa Sandra Lesa as part of a master class.

Saint-Saëns Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso pour Violin et Orchestre, written in 1863, was originally intended for the Spanish virtuoso violinist Pablo Saraste as the Finale to the composer's first violin concerto. It begins with a meditative opening that then quickly explodes into dazzling displays of virtuosity inspired by traditional Spanish dances like the habanera.

A closer look: composers and works

More info