Master class

Gábor Takács-Nagy teaches Bartók: String Quartet No. 5

Treasures of the Masterclass Media Foundation

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Gábor Takács-Nagy — Teacher, violinist

Danish String Quartet — Students

Program notes

Considered one of today’s most authentic exponents of Hungarian music, Gábor Takács-Nagy gives a masterclass on one of his favourite composers, Béla Bartók.

Gábor Takács-Nagy has achieved his proven reputation many years ago, winning the first prize of the Jeno Hubay European violin competition in 1979, he learnt from the great Nathan Milstein and was awarded with the first prize of the Franz Liszt Academy in 1982. Founder and first violin of the Takács Quartet from 1975 to 1992, recognized worldwide as one of the best string quartets, he has also played with Sir Georg Solti, Lord Menuhin and Mstislav Rostropovich.

Particularly known for his performances of Bartók's works, he offers a masterclass on the composer's String quartet No. 5, with a focus on the fourth movement, Andante. Bartók's six quartets have marked his life from 1908 to 1939. The quartet No. 5 is characterized by its bright melody.

The Masterclass Media Foundation archives offer to students and music lovers around the world filmed masterclasses, given by the best talents, on the greatest works of the classical repertoire. Their primary purpose is to provide a valuable educational resource in order to perpetuate passion and knowledge from one generation to another.

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info