Master class

Inside Beethoven's String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center: Inside Chamber Music

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Bruce Adolphe — Resident Lecturer

Arnaud Sussmann — Violinist

Sean Lee — Violinist

Matthew Lipman — Violist

David Finckel — Cellist

Program notes

Considered by Beethoven himself to be quite possibly the best piece of music he ever composed, the String Quartet No. 14 is a monumental work that made an indelible mark on the history of Western art music. What inspired him to create this masterpiece of a string quartet, as revolutionary as it is sublime? Learn the answer to this question and many more with composer-resident lecturer Bruce Adolphe and four excellent string players of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center in this illuminating lecture-concert!

Photo: Bruce Adolphe © Tristan Cook

This is just one of hundreds of master classes available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: featured composers

More info