Jacques Loussier Piano Solo Plays Vivaldi in Munich

Munich Philharmonie im Gasteig 1997

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Jacques Loussier — Pianist

Program notes

It was in 1959 that Jacques Loussier, the French pianist and composer, first decided to combine his twin loves for jazz and classical music. The result was a trio that focused on re-interpreting the music of Bach and it enjoyed the kind of success that few jazz musicians dream of. Having built a solid foundation as an accompanist, playing with the likes of Charles Aznavour, Loussier doubled down on this new fusion and though he mostly focused on Bach, he went on to tackle many of the great classical composers. 

This 1997 concert, performed at the Munich Philharmoniker, sees Loussier dive into The Four Seasons, a legendary group of four violin concerti by Italian baroque composer Antonio Vivaldi, each of which gives musical expression to a season of the year. The first half of the concert tackles Spring and the second Summer, with Loussier melding his jazz flair and sense for rhythm with the timeless melodies of the 1700s. 

A closer look: featured composers

More info