Yo-Yo Ma plays Bach's Six Solo Cello Suites

Odeon of Herodes Atticus

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Yo-Yo Ma — Cellist

Program notes

“These suites are so meaningful. They’re not only companions and friends, but they’ve also been reference points in my life… For almost six decades, they have given me sustenance, comfort, and joy during times of stress, celebration, and loss. What power does this music possess that even today, after three hundred years, it continues to help us navigate through troubled times?” –Yo-Yo Ma

In this landmark concert, Yo-Yo Ma performs all six of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Suites for Solo Cello just steps from the Parthenon, in Athens’s Odeon of Herodes Atticus. Part of a musical pilgrimage begun in 2018, this performance is one of 36 Ma is giving in locations around the world. The virtuoso and classical music pioneer spellbinds his audiences with some of the music that has remained near and dear to him over the course of his entire career.

Photo © Yo-Yo Ma

This program is just one of the thousands available on, the web’s leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info