Xinyuan Wang plays Schubert and Bartók

Piano recital

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of
Cast Program notes More info


Xinyuan Wang — Pianist

Program notes

Winner of the third prize and Audience Award at the 2018 Leeds International Piano Competition, Xinyuan Wang returns to with a recital at Wigmore Hall!

The talented young Chinese pianist takes us on a musical journey beginning with Schubert's Sonata in D major, D. 850, composed in 1825 at the heart of the Austrian Alps. Next stop: Eastern Europe, through the lens of Bartók's Two Romanian Dances and 3 Hungarian Folksongs from Csík. A pair of Bartók pieces adored by pianists worldwide concludes the colorful program: his Allegro Barbaro, once considered scandalous for its frenetic rhythms, and his only piano Sonata, today considered one of the great pianistic masterworks of the twentieth century.

More info

Directed by:
Matt Parkin
Venue: Wigmore Hall (London, Great Britain)
Broadcast date: Wednesday, December 11, 2019, 1:00 PM
Production date: 2019
Duration: 1 h 4 min