Verbier Festival celebrates Chamber Music

Verbier Festival 2011

Certain chapters are not available. <br> Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Appears in More info


Martha Argerich — Pianist
Joshua Bell — Violinist
Gautier Capuçon — Cellist
Leonidas Kavakos — Violinist
Evgeny Kissin — Pianist
Roby Lakatos — Violinist
Mischa Maisky — Cellist
Denis Matsuev — Pianist
Julian Rachlin — Violinist
Yuja Wang — Pianist

Program notes

A constellation of some of the most brilliant soloists in the musical firmament come together to perform an exciting program of chamber music!

Yuja Wang, Leonidas Kavakos, and Gautier Capuçon get the ball rolling with Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No. 2, followed by Leonidas Kavakos and Joshua Bell performing a Ysaÿe Duo Sonata. Denis Matsuev, Julian Rachlin, and Roby Lakatos tackle Vittorio Monti’s Csardas, transcribed for two violins and piano. Brahms’ Piano Quartet follows, featuring Kissin, Repin, Bashmet, and Maïsky. Finally, as the cherry on the cake, legendary pianists Martha Argerich and Evgeny Kissin bring Lutoslawski’s Variations sur un thème de Paganini with head-spinning virtuosity.

Appears in

More info

Directed by:
Isabelle Soulard
Venue: Salle des Combins (Verbier, Switzerland)
Production date: 2011
Duration: 1 h 1 min
Production: © Idéale Audience – Museec