Valery Gergiev conducts Escaich, Beethoven, Dutilleux, Shchedrin, and Ravel — With Daniil Trifonov

The Isarphilharmonie Opening Concert

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Daniil Trifonov — Pianist

Philharmonischer Chor München

Andreas Herrmann — Chorus Master

Münchner Philharmoniker

Valery Gergiev — Conductor

Program notes

Meet us live from Munich for the grand opening of the Isarphilharmonie. The great Valery Gergiev and Daniil Trifonov, alongside the prestigious Münchner Philharmoniker and Philharmonischer Chor München, rise to the occasion with a rich, complex, and enchanting program.

The evening begins with a world premiere: Arising Dances by Thierry Escaich, commissioned specifically for the event. Then, Trifonov bursts onto the stage for a fiery rendition of Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4, a work whose solo introduction and its brief second movement with almost no interaction between piano and orchestra set it as a unique contribution to the repertoire. We then move on to Dutilleux’s Métaboles. Along the course of this piece, written between 1962 and 1964, the composer explores both the rhetorical and biological sense of its title. The result is a series of musical elements, repeated by different groups of instruments while slowly morphing during the piece’s five movements, culminating in a breathtaking cadence, triumphantly exclaimed by the whole orchestra. Silence then falls on the magnificent venue, as we hear the first movement of Rodion Shchedrin’s The Sealed Angel for chorus and flute. The long ethereal notes, inspired by Russian liturgy, the melody, and the wealth of harmonies deployed by the composer cast a spell on the audience. The concert ends with the Daphnis et Chloé suite by Ravel, putting the finishing touch on an already magical evening.

Photo: Valery Gergiev © Alexander Shapunov; Daniil Trifonov

Daniil Trifonov appears courtesy of Deutsche Grammophon.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info