The Takács Quartet performs Brahms's quintets (I/II) — With Zoltán Kocsis

Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Zoltán Kocsis — Pianist

Takács Quartet

Gábor Takács-Nagy — Violinist

Karoly Schranz — Violinist

Gäbor Ormai — Violist

András Fejér — Cellist

Program notes

The Takács Quartet offers up two chamber concerts of the highest order, joined by exceptional guests! In this first installment, the award-winning ensemble welcomes pianist Zoltán Kocsis to perform Brahms's beloved Piano Quintet in F minor—originally conceived as a string quartet before the composer gave it its final form, haunting and poignant. From the moving lyricism of the Andante to the almost martial rhythm of the Scherzo, this quintet never fails to strike a chord in its listeners…

Check out volume two of this series to see the quartet join Nobuko Imai in Brahms's String Quartet No. 2!

A closer look: featured composers

More info