The Takács Quartet perform Brahms's quintets (II/II) — With Nobuko Imai

String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Nobuko Imai — Violinist

Takács Quartet

Edward Dusinberre — Violinist

Karoly Schranz — Violinist

Roger Tapping — Violist

András Fejér — Cellist

Program notes

The Takács Quartet offers up two chamber concerts of the highest order, joined by exceptional guests! After a first volume devoted to the Piano Quintet, this entry features Brahms's celebrated String Quintet No. 2 in G major, whose nuances and complexities are brought out brilliantly in a classic performance. The world-renowned quartet, founded by the great Gábor Takács-Nagy, is here joined by violinist Nobuko Imai to create a full and resonant orchestral sound. If Brahms had not later rediscovered the expressive possibilities of the clarinet, this quintet would have been his final composition!

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info