Sir András Schiff plays and conducts Haydn and Bartók

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Program notes

The Herbstgold Festival in Eisenstadt's gorgeous Esterházy Palace continues with the great András Schiff, who conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and dazzles at the piano, in a delightfully offbeat pairing of Haydn and Bartók!

Schiff begins the program at the piano bench, performing the solo role in Haydn's Keyboard Concerto No. 11 in D Major. The best known and most performed of Haydn's keyboard concertos, it commonly draws comparisons to Mozart for the clarity of its structure and harmonic subtleties. The COE under maestro Schiff continue with Bartók's Divertimento for String Orchestra, whose title is slightly misleading: under its apparent simplicity and levity, the work—written in a few weeks in 1939, just before the composer fled Hungary to the United States—conceals Bartók's fears in a world on the brink of war. Concluding the program is Haydn's 104th and final symphony, composed in 1795 and—though he wrote eleven other symphonies in the English capital—often called the "London" Symphony.

Photo: Sir András Schiff © Yutaka Suzuki

This is just one of over a thousand thrilling concerts available on, the web's leading classical music streaming platform!

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Monday, October 18, 2027