Roberto González-Monjas plays and conducts Bach – With Sergei Babayan, Kirill Gerstein, and Frederic Sánchez

Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
With the support of
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Program notes

An evening dedicated to Bach's concertos! On stage, brilliant pianists Sergei Babayan and Kirill Gerstein, flutist Frederic Sánchez, and the Verbier Festival Chamber Orchestra led by its remarkable Spanish concertmaster, Roberto González-Monjas.

The concert begins with Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 1, composed for the uncle of Prussian king Frederick William I. Then comes a selection of harpsichord concertos, performed here on the piano. The concert closes with the Orchestral Suite No. 4 in D Major, one of a set of four works Bach titled as Ouvertures: each suite begins with a conventional French overture followed by a series of dances. The suites cannot be precisely dated, but it is generally accepted that Suite No. 4 was composed while Bach was living in Köthen.

Made possible by the support of the Tabor Foundation.
Photo: Roberto González-Monjas


A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info