Riccardo Chailly conducts Mendelssohn

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Anne Schwanewilms — Soprano

Petra-Maria Schnitzer — Soprano

Peter Seiffert — Tenor

Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

Riccardo Chailly — Conductor

Program notes

Riccardo Chailly's inaugural concert as Kapellmeister of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra capturing the full atmosphere of a unique musical occasion is a feast of Mendelssohn from the orchestra the composer founded. The concert includes an overwhelming performance of Mendelssohn's Second Symphony "Lobgesang" with its celebratory choral last movement in a new edition, as well as the ever-popular overture A Midsummer Night's Dream with outstanding vocal soloists including Anne Schwanewilms and Peter Seiffert. The Gewandhaus Orchestra can look back with pride today at a history of over 250 years. It has meanwhile made music history and evolved into one of the world's best-known and most renowned orchestras.

A closer look: featured composers

Appears in

More info