Sir Simon Rattle conducts Wagner, Bartók, and Haydn – With Denis Kozhukhin

London Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Sir Simon Rattle conducts an extraordinary program of orchestral music by Haydn, Wagner, and Bartók joined by the pianist Denis Kozhukhin! Leading the London Symphony Orchestra, the celebrated conductor offers the audience an unusual and fascinating mix of three centuries of music. The concert begins with the intensity of the Prelude and Liebestod from Wagner’s Tristan und Isolde, followed by the unforgettable colors and fascinating rhythmic dialogue between orchestra and soloist of Bartók’s Second Piano Concerto. An “Imaginary Orchestral Journey” closes the program: this pastiche put together by Rattle himself combines various movements from different works by Haydn to capture the drama, humor, elegance, and lightness of the composer’s œuvre.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info