Seven-Part Bach Cycle (II/VII) – With Raphaël Pichon, Ensemble Pygmalion, Joanne Lunn, Tim Mead...

Part II: In Passing

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Joanne Lunn — Soprano

Tim Mead — Countertenor

Nick Pritchard — Tenor

Christian Immler — Bass

Compagnie 14:20 — New magic

Ensemble Pygmalion

Raphaël Pichon — Conductor

Program notes

Raphaël Pichon and his ensemble Pygmalion presented Bach in Seven Parts, an unprecedented cycle of cantatas by the beloved Cantor of Leipzig in concert in 2017. The second concert, "In Passing", evokes the suffering and the shortness of human beings' time on earth. BWV 146  "We must enter the Kingdom of God through much sorrow", BWV 27 "Who knows how near my end is", BWV 8 "Dearest God, when will I die?", and BWV 48 "I, miserable human, who will deliver me" are the four cantatas on this concert's program. BWV 48 also features a choreographed performance by AragoRn Boulanger and Clément Debailleul.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info

Available until

Thursday, May 11, 2028