Seven-Part Bach Cycle (VII/VII) – With Raphaël Pichon, Ensemble Pygmalion, Robin Johannsen, Stéphane Degout...

Part VII: Consolation

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Robin Johannsen — Soprano

Lucile Richardot — Alto

Robin Tritschler — Tenor

Stéphane Degout — Baritone

Tomáš Král — Bass

Anne Alvaro — Reader

Ensemble Pygmalion

Raphaël Pichon — Director

Program notes

Raphaël Pichon and his ensemble Pygmalion present Bach in Seven Parts, an unprecedented cycle of cantatas by the beloved Cantor of Leipzig. In the seventh and final installment of the series entitled "Consolation," they explore religious hopes for a new and better life in the hereafter with the moving Cantata BWV 21 "Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis" and the unforgettable Cantata BWV 82 "Ich habe genug". Anne Alvaro joins the musicians to read excerpts from Philippe Jaccottet’s À la lumière d’hiver.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info