Rafael Payare conducts Berlioz and Brahms

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, under the direction of the dynamic Rafael Payare, welcomes you for a delightful evening of Romantic-era music, live from the Montreal Symphony House. The program begins with the fireworks of Berlioz’s Roman Carnival, followed by Brahms’s Symphony No. 1, a masterpiece which took over 14 years to complete and has been called "Beethoven's Tenth" for its unshakeable place in the symphonic repertoire.

Photo: Rafael Payare © BGE

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

More info