Nathan Milstein and Georges Pludermacher play Beethoven's Kreutzer Sonata

Nathan Milstein's last recital

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Nathan Milstein — Violinist

Georges Pludermacher — Pianist

Program notes

A historical interpretation of Beethoven's Kreutzer Sonata by Nathan Miltein and Georges Pludermacher.

With no hope of ever curing his deafness, Beethoven addressed to his brothers his Heiligenstadt Testament (1802), a moving letter in which the young composer expresses his state of affliction: "with joy I hasten towards death – […] will it not free me from my state of endless suffering? Come when thou will I shall meet thee bravely."

But despair will fortunately not last. In 1802, Beethoven composed the Kreutzer Sonata, now a classic of the violin repertoire. The year 1802 marks the beginning of the so-called "heroic" period, which reached a peak in 1808 with the creation of the 5th symphony...

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info