Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Brahms, Grieg, and Schubert

Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works More info


Program notes

Hold onto your hats for an epic musical journey with the esteemed Michael Tilson Thomas and the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal at the Maison Symphonique! The program, designed by the illustrious MTT as part of his artistic residence with the OSM, opens with the fiery exaltation of Brahms's Tragic Overture, Op. 81 and continues with the luminous and bittersweet romanticism of Grieg's "The Last Spring," one of the gorgeous Two Elegiac Melodies. Maestro and orchestra close out the evening with Schubert's Ninth (and final) Symphony, the "Grand," an uncontested masterpiece of orchestral writing.

Photo: Michael Tilson Thomas © Vahan Stepanyan

A closer look: composers and works

More info

Available until

Friday, April 23, 2027