Michael Sanderling conducts Schreker and Beethoven

Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad 2024

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Lucerne Symphony Orchestra

Michael Sanderling — Conductor

Program notes

In one of the highlights of the 2024 Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad, set in the stunning Swiss Alps, the world-class Lucerne Symphony Orchestra and their chief conductor Michael Sanderling take on the lushly harmonic Intermezzo for String Orchestra by Austrian composer Franz Schreker, a once-prominent figure whose work has been rediscovered and reappraised following decades of obscurity, and Beethoven's glorious Symphony No. 7—perhaps less widely heard than the Fifth and Ninth, but no less masterful in the élan of its outer movements and the heart-stopping emotion of its famous Allegretto, whose implacable rhythms feel as elemental as life and death.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info