Jaap van Zweden conducts Glass and Shostakovich — With Katia and Marielle Labèque

Orchestre de Paris

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

The Labèque sisters perform Philip Glass's Double Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra—a work composed especially for them—with Jaap van Zweden and the Orchestre de Paris. The concerto is followed up by Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony.

For the first time in Europe, Katia and Marielle Labèque, sisters and pianists renowned for their incredible synchronicity and energy, present Philip Glass's Double Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra. It was composed in the fall and winter of 2014-15 and commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Orchestre de Paris, Borusan Istanbul Philharmonic Orchestra, Göteborgs Symfoniker and Orquesta Nacional de España. Philip Glass, one of today's most prominent composers, was born in 1937 in Baltimore, Maryland (USA). Other acclaimed works by Glass include the opera Einstein on the Beach (1967) and a grand Violin Concerto (1987).

Philip Glass's Double Concerto is followed by Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony. Probably the composer's most performed symphony, the work was composed in 1937 in Leningrad and proved to be an unprecedented triumph for its creator. Its emotional intensity reflects the horrors of the Great Terror. Under the baton of Jaap van Zweden, the Orchestre de Paris offers an interpretation infused with precision and passion.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info