Pablo Heras-Casado conducts Lutosławski's Musique funèbre

Orchestre de Paris

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Orchestre de Paris

Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris

Pablo Heras-Casado

Program notes

Completed a decade after the passing of the great Béla Bartók, Polish composer Witold Lutosławski’s Musique funèbre (Music of Mourning) was commissioned by Jan Krenz and the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra and premiered in Katowice in 1958. Comprising one movement in four distinct sections, the work provides an early example of Lutosławski’s “chain form,” which “braids” together distinct strands of music, and ends palindromically, the final section mirroring the twelve-tone canon of the first.

The acclaimed and dazzlingly talented Spanish conductor Pablo Heras-Casado leads the Orchestre de Paris (and the Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris) at their home venue in Lutosławski’s miniature masterpiece.

More info