Lawrence Foster conducts Liszt and Shostakovich — With Marc Coppey

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Marc Coppey — Cellist

Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra

Lawrence Foster — Conductor

Program notes

The Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra and its new artistic director Lawrence Foster offer up an arresting program of Shostakovich's two cello concertos and a pair of symphonic poems by Liszt! Join them for this stellar performance from the beautiful modern concert hall of the Polish city of Katowice, a UNESCO City of Music.

Originally composed for and premiered by Rostropovich (in 1959 and 1966 respectively), the solo cello parts of Shostakovich’s two concertos are performed here by the exquisite French virtuoso Marc Coppey, first prize winner of the Leipzig International Bach Competition. Derived largely from an earlier choral cycle called Les Quatre Éléments, Liszt’s 1854 Les Préludes was a landmark in classical music history, as it was the earliest orchestral work to be entitled “symphonic poem”. Premiered the same year, Orpheus is one of 12 symphonic poems Liszt composed to honor men of great heroism, creative genius, or mythology. 

Photo: Marc Coppey © Kyoko Homma

A closer look: composers and works

More info