John Nelson conducts Johann Sebastian Bach's St Matthew Passion

With Werner Güra (The Evangelist) and Stephen Morscheck (Jesus) – Orchestre de Chambre de Paris

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


Werner Güra — The Evangelist

Stephen Morscheck — Jesus

Lucy Crowe — Soprano

Christine Rice — Mezzo-soprano

Nicholas Phan — Tenor

Matthew Brook — Baritone

Bertrand Grunenwald — Bass

Christophe Coin — Gambist

Deborah Nemtanu — Violinist

Stephen Alltop — Continuo

Mathieu Dupouy — Organist

Guillaume Paoletti — Cellist

Eckhard Rudolph — Double bassist

Orchestre de Chambre de Paris

John Nelson — Music director

Schola Cantorum of Oxford, James Burton

Program notes

John Nelson conducts St Matthew Passion, BWV 244 in the exceptional setting of the Basilica of St Denis.

Bach's St Matthew Passion is a monumental musical work: two choirs, two orchestras, four soloists and one narrator embodying Matthew the Evangelist. But beyond the extraordinary mass sonority, it is the dramatic tension of the Passion's narrative that holds the spectators spellbound during this three-hour long oratorio.

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info