Jakub Hrůša conducts Tchaikovsky, Glazunov, and Shostakovich — With Julia Fischer

Bamberg Symphony

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Julia Fischer — Violinist

Bamberg Symphony

Jakub Hrůša — Conductor

Program notes

The world-class Bamberg Symphony comes to you live from the Bamberg Konzerthalle with three Russian masterpieces! Under the baton of principal conductor Jakub Hrůša, the ensemble is joined by the prodigiously talented violinist Julia Fischer.

The evening begins with Tchaikovsky's sumptuously beautiful Romeo and Juliet, an "Overture-Fantasy" inspired by the Bard's most famous tragedy, richly evocative of both the enmity between the feuding Montagues and Capulets as well as the passion of the star-crossed lovers. The profoundly moving work has long been a favorite in the concert repertoire, especially in the reworked versions to which Tchaikovsky returned more than once; it is the second version, published in 1870, that the orchestra performs here.

Violin virtuoso Fischer then makes her entrance to perform Glazunov's Violin Concerto, technically brilliant and structurally unique, each movement flowing into the next without pauses. Finally, the program comes to a close with Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony (1945), described by the composer as "transparent, pellucid, and bright" in mood, reflecting the Soviets' triumph over the Nazis on the Eastern Front of World War II.

Photo: Jakub Hrůša © Andreas Herzau, Julia Fischer © Uwe Arens

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info