Glass Marcano conducts Coleridge-Taylor, Goodyear, and Tchaikovsky — With Gerard Aimontche

Chineke! Junior Orchestra — Young Euro Classic Festival

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Gerard Aimontche — Pianist

Chineke! Junior Orchestra

Glass Marcano — Conductor

Program notes

Catch the award-winning conductor Glass Marcano conducting the spectacular Chineke! Junior Orchestra in a diverse program featuring works by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Stewart Goodyear, and Tchaikovsky! 

The concert commences with British composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s tempestuous Othello Suite op. 79, comprising five movements from the incidental music that the composer wrote for a 1912 production of Shakespeare’s Othello at His Majesty’s Theatre in Aberdeen, Scotland. Stewart Goodyear’s Callaloo—a Caribbean Suite for Piano and Orchestra—follows, a gorgeous work blending classical and calypso music. Dynamic, fast-paced, and spirited, the piece was first conceptualized when the composer was 14 and marks a celebration of his Trinidadian heritage. The program reaches a triumphant finish with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F Minor, “perhaps the best I have written so far” in the words of the composer himself.

Photo: Glass Marcano © Gladys Vadel

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info