Giuseppe Sinopoli conducts Vivaldi, von Weber, Wagner and R. Strauss

450th anniversary of the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Staatskapelle Dresden

Giuseppe Sinopoli — Conductor

Program notes

An exceptional concert conducted by Giuseppe Sinopoli for the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden's 450th anniversary.

Founded in 1548, the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden is one of the oldest orchestras in the world. Heinrich Schütz, Carl Maria von Weber and Richard Wagner – to name but a few – have all been once the musical directors of this prestigious musical institution...

For its 450th anniversary concert, it is under the baton of the italian conductor Giuseppe Sinopoli that the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden pays tribute to some of the most outstanding figures of its history, with a programme made up of Antonio Vivaldi's Concerto per l'orchestra di Dresda in G Minor, RV 577, Carl Maria von Weber's Jubelouvertüre, Op. 59, Richard Wagner's Rienzi Overture and Richard Strauss's An Alpine Symphony.

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info