Franz Welser-Möst conducts Mozart, Schoenberg, and Strauss

With The Cleveland Orchestra at Severance Music Center

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.
Cast Program notes Composers & works Appears in More info


The Cleveland Orchestra

Franz Welser-Möst — Conductor

Program notes

The Cleveland Orchestra, "America's finest" (The New York Times), performs a rewarding program spotlighting the rich symphonic traditions of Central Europe, led by their longtime musical director, the celebrated Franz Welser-Möst!

Mozart's youthful Divertimento in D, composed when he was just 16, begins the program with effervescent charm before Welser-Möst and the celebrated ensemble take on a 20th-century masterwork that caused a stir on its premiere: Arnold Schoenberg's Variations for Orchestra, the Viennese composer's first large-scale twelve-tone work, a watershed moment in music history. Finally, one of Richard Strauss's most evocative tone poems brings the evening to a close: Ein Heldenleben (A Hero's Life), an epic and engrossing musical portrait of a hero (often thought to be Strauss himself, though he denied it) through times of tumult, strife, and peace.

Photo © Roger Mastroianni

A closer look: composers and works

Appears in

More info