Logo Rolex
Rolex and the Arts
Logo Rolex

Certain parts of this program are not currently available

concert Mathieu Romano conducts Poulenc, Debussy, and Fauré's Requiem Ensemble Aedes, Les Siècles

Ensemble Aedes, Les Siècles

Mathieu Romano conducts Poulenc, Debussy, and Fauré's Requiem Ensemble Aedes, Les Siècles


This exquisite rendition of Fauré's Requiem unites the historically informed approach of the Les Siècles ensemble, performing on period instruments, and the vocal mastery of the Ensemble Aedes, whose repertoire spans the last five centuries. The 1893 version of Fauré's ethereal, serene masterpiece prominently features the organ, a beautiful complement to the vocal lines throughout the work, perhaps especially so in the concluding "In Paradisum." With the Latin pronounced in the French way as it would have been in Fauré's time, the two French ensembles under Maestro Mathieu Romano deliver a lucid and luminous performance.

The Requiem is followed by the deeply moving Cantique de Jean Racine, a work by the prodigious 19-year-old Fauré that announced him as a major new composer. Rounding out the all-French program are Debussy's medievally inspired Trois Chansons de Charles d'Orléans, and two sacred works by Poulenc: the Litanies à la Vierge Noire, marking the composer's return to faith, and the Mass in F Major, a tribute to his recently deceased father.


  • Ensemble Aedes
  • Les Siècles
  • Mathieu Romano | Conductor


  • Francis Poulenc, Litanies à la Vierge Noire (Litany to the Black Virgin)
  • Claude Debussy, Trois chansons de Charles d'Orléans
    • I. Dieu! qu'il la fait bon regarder! (God, how beautiful she is!)
    • II. Quand j'ai ouy la tabourin (When I heard the tambourine)
    • III. Yver, vous n'estes qu'un villain (Winter, you're naught but a rogue)
  • Francis Poulenc, Mass in G Major
    • I. Kyrie: Animé et très rythmé
    • II. Gloria: Très animé
    • III. Sanctus: Très allant et doucement joyeux
    • IV. Benedictus: Calme mais sans lenteur
    • V. Agnus Dei: Très pur, très clair et modéré
  • Gabriel Fauré, Messa da Requiem in D minor, Op. 48
    • Introit
    • Offertoire
    • Sanctus
    • Pie Jesus
    • Agnus Dei
    • Libera me
    • In Paradisum
  • Gabriel Fauré / Fabien Touchard, Cantique de Jean Racine, Op. 11


  • Directed by:
    • Colin Laurent
  • Venue: Chapelle Corneille (Rouen)
  • Production date: 2018
  • Duration: 1 h 20 min
  • Production: © Gingerlemon - Euromedia - Ensemble Aedes - Les Musicales de Normandie
This video is reserved for our subscribers. In just a few clicks, you can be one of them.

Appears in

You might also like