Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts Shostakovich and Bruckner — With Gautier Capuçon

Orchestre de Paris

Certain chapters are not available.
Thank you for your understanding.


Program notes

Celebrated worldwide as a composer and a conductor unafraid to take risks and discover new possibilities, Esa-Pekka Salonen comes to you on in the esteemed company of the Orchestre de Paris and virtuoso cellist Gautier Capuçon!

The evening begins in high style with Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1. From the opening of this beloved work, brimming with color and contrast, brightness and levity are imbued with an undercurrent of irony that comes more and more to the forefront as the movements progress. Next, the orchestra interprets Bruckner's Symphony No. 6, an enchanting masterpiece that the composer considered his boldest symphony, full of rhythmic complexity and bringing the program to a triumphant conclusion.

Photo: Esa-Pekka Salonen © Patrick Swirc; Gautier Capuçon © Felix Broede. 

A closer look: featured composers

Further listening: featured works

Appears in

More info